Silver Stand Up Competition

Leicester Comedy Festival’s annual competition for the finest up and coming comedians, aged 55+

Our 2018 contestants are:

Nik Hill                                               Bruce Sidlo

Sally Firth                                          Sandra Hale

Jac Bevan                                          Debra Heighton

The Geri-Raptric                             Fred Ferenczi

Kevin Hudson                                  Baldy

Sha Wylie                                          John Butler

Christine                                           Lois Bromfield

Bakshi Shemar                                Pat O’Connor

Click here to book tickets to the final of Silver Stand Up Competition 2018

  • Pete Teckman (55) from Northampton crowned Silver Stand Up of the Year 2017.
  • Twenty comedians aged 55 – 81 were shortlisted to perform and 8 comedians took to the stage to compete for the coveted title.
  • The annual event is supported by Jasper Carrot, Pam Ayres & Arthur Smith
  • Pete Teckman was crowned Silver Stand Up of the Year 2017 on Thursday 23rdFebruary, seeing off fierce competition from up and up and coming comedians aged between 55 and 81.
  • The contestants each performed their 5 minute sets in front of the crowd and the judging panel; BBC radio presenter Monica Winfield, Martyn Allison from Big Difference Company and Louise Grainger from Equity.

On winning the competition, Pete said: “There were acts who entered with different levels of experience all having a go and it’s just really nice that there’s something there for older acts to have a go at. I think it’s a great competition.”

Leicester Comedy Festival is renowned for nurturing new voices in comedy, and offering audiences the opportunity to be among the first to spot the stars of tomorrow. As well as the Silver Stand Up competition, the prestigious Leicester Mercury Comedian of the Year award has launched many of today’s comedy heroes, with Johnny Vegas, Miles Jupp and Rhod Gilbert all previous winners.

The full list of shortlisted Silver Stand Up 2017 comedians were…

Sandra Hale, Herts (64)
Nik Hill, Gloucester (58)
Rosetta Delisle, London (65)
Pete Teckman, Northampton (55)
Sally Firth, London (61)
Billy McGuire, Derby (59)
Geri-Raptric, Shoreham-by-Sea (64)
Mandy McCarthy, Harrogate (55)
Mavis Smith , Leicester (81)
Kevin Hudson , Leicester (56)
Sha Wylie , Hove (71)
Christine Crawley, Banbury (66)
Fred Ferenczi, Aylesbury (61)
Bruce Sidlo, Morecambe (66)
Pat O’Connor, Surrey (60)
Norman Conquest, York (70)
Gill Thomas, Leicester (59)
Murrae Blair-Park, Ashby (55)
Paul Haslam, Rochdale (68)


The first Silver Stand Up competition was won by Shelley Bridgman who continues to gig regularly across the UK and was a founder member of the Trans Comedy Award, working with BBC writers to develop scripts that portray funny and positive representations of the trans community. The winning script, Boy Meets Girl, aired on BBC Two in 2015, to critical acclaim.

The 2013 winner of the Silver Stand Up competition, Marc Lucero, regularly gigs across London, and the 2014 competition was won by Peter Callaghan, a member of the comedy collective Old Folks Telling Jokes, which performs around the country.

In 2015 the competition was won by Ed de Cantor.  Ed had given up performing stand up aged 40, thinking he was “too old”.  On winning the competition in 2015, he said “I am completely over the moon. Winning this competition is a dream come true.” 

 The 2016 winner was Marguerite Grant, a Missouri native now based in Cambridgeshire, who performed in-character as a housewife and inventor.


Thank you! Your subscription has been confirmed. You'll hear from us soon.