Leicester Comedy Festival is one of the premier incubators and producers of new comedy talent. This is celebrated through the many Festival Awards and through various Competitions. This year Leicester Comedy Festival will be hosting three key comedy competitions. Information and details on how to apply can be found below.


The UK Pun Championships

A total sell out for the past 3 years, The UK Pun Championships arrives at its new home De Montfort Hall. Celebrating the great British pun with contestants from across the UK. “A pantomime atmosphere.” (Chortle)

The 4th UK Pun Championships will take place on Punday 13th February in Leicester. The winner of this hugely anticipated event will follow in the footsteps of previous winners Darren Walsh, Leo Kearse and Masai Graham.

The competition is a major part of Leicester Comedy Festival and follows the format of a rap battle.  Topics are picked randomly on the night and competitors then take it in turns to pun about that particular topic. Audiences vote for their favourite pun (by way of woops & cheers) and the winner goes through to the next round.  After a full evening of pun based comedy, 2 finalists then fight it out until a winner is crowned.

How to apply:


To apply for UK Pun Championships 2017 please send the following to pun@comedy-festival.co.uk

1)      Your name (and act name if different)

2)      A brief summary of your professional experience

3)      Five of your best puns

Entries must be received by 20th December 2016

If shortlisted you must be available to compete on Punday 13th February

Let others know you’ve applied by using #UKPunday


Leicester Mercury Comedian of the Year

One of the longest running comedy competitions in the UK, the prestigious LMCOTY takes place on Saturday 25th February as part of Leicester Comedy Festival. The event is an annual sell-out as part of the festival and entry is via nomination by one of the selected comedy promoters. There is no open entry process so do not contact us. The nominating promoters will be announced soon, together with the judging panel.

Tickets are on sale via www.comedy-festival.co.uk

Past winners: Stevie Knuckles, Jo Enright, Johnny Vegas, Mitch Benn, Patrick Kitterick, Jason Manford, Miles Jupp, Matt Blaize, Rhod Gilbert, Matt Hollins, Debra Jane Appleby, James Branch, Carl Donnelly, Henry Paker, Seann Walsh, Josh Widdicombe, Ben Target &Tom Rosenthal, Matt Rees, Romesh Ranganathan, Kate Lucas, Tom Little and Tom Lucy.


Silver Stand Up

The Silver Stand Up Competition, organised in partnership with Silver Comedy, will take place on Thursday 23rd February as part of Leicester Comedy Festival. Comedians aged over 55 are encouraged to enter for the chance to win the 2016 title.

Registration deadline is Friday 9th December 2016.


If shortlisted you must be available to attend the heats on the afternoon of Thursday 23rd in Leicester, and the finals in evening if selected.


Further details are available by contacting maya@bigdifferencecompany.co.uk


Past winners include: Shelley Bridgman, Marc Lucero, Peter Callaghan & Ed de Cantor


Thank you! Your subscription has been confirmed. You'll hear from us soon.